How much good? How much joy?

A honest supplier should always provide a picture that is true to the merchandise. When luck is just against you, what I saw was a lovely fairy pendant with a cute rounded nose with a pair of lovely wings and this was what I’ve gotten instead:

Fairy Dust Bookmark - Before

Can you imagine my frustration after I’ve received the actual pieces? Well, I am definitely not going to pass the frustration down to my customers. The supplier is definitely going to be blacklisted and the entire batch won’t make it for listing, that’s for sure.

Frankly speaking, my heart would bleed to see those pieces lying inside the rejected box whenever I am doing my inventory check and I keep asking myself what should I do with them?

Instead of asking ‘How much damage will the work in question bring about?’

Why not ask ‘How much good? How much joy?’

Henry Miller

ID-10056131

How much good? How much joy?

Hmm…and thus my journey to finding joy in this damage soon begins….

After making a bunch of bookmarks for our ‘Find Love’ contest, I’ve decided to try making a bookmark using whatever resources I currently have because I really enjoy making bookmarks.

Here’s the outcome:

Fair Dust Bookmark 1

Fairy Dust Bookmart 2

We are shaped by our thoughts; we become what we think.

When the mind is pure, joy follows like a shadow that never leaves.

~ Buddha

If you lovely souls have been following this humble blog of ours, you already know by now that I am a firm believer of  “Everything happens for a reason” .

Those long years of bad health which cost me a job that fetched me a comfortable payroll and later a job that gave me many challenges and joy while being with many lovable children.

I wouldn’t be here laughing at my own creation and typing out this post with a joyous mood if not for those long years of bad health. Therefore, I am actually quite thankful for this.

Sometimes our light goes out but is blown into flame by another human being.

Each of us owes deepest thanks to those who have rekindled this light.

~ Albert Schweitzer

Fairy Dust Bookmark - After

What I’ve done in this D.I.Y:

  • I applied the entire pendant with a layer of pink nail polish as its base colour
  • I added another layer of pink glittering nail polish over the first pink coating
  • With the second coating, I managed to make the contour of the nose a little rounder and filling up the gaps in between the joints of the wing and the fairy’s shoulder
  • The light and dark green 2 mm rhinestones were used for the wing parts
  • Brown nail polish was used as the hair colour so as to differentiate the hair from the face
  • A layer of top coat was applied, even over the rhinestones so as to give the body a shinier surface and to further secure the rhinestones
  • I wrapped the connecting ring (which is part of the pendant) with a rim of purple wool because I didn’t like the outcome of the ring after the pink coatings
  • I made a ‘leash’ (not sure how I should call this part) by tying a few strands of purple wool to a small ring (which was from the original pendant) and then cover the knot with a plastic cap-like component which I’ve ripped off from an unused key chain…LOL..
  • Then I used another ring from the key chain as the medium between the bookmark and the purple wool ‘leash’

You must take the first step.

The first steps will take some effort, maybe pain.

But after that, everything that has to be done is real-life movement.

~ Ben Stein

I am thankful to have this companionship and of course, all those sweet encouragement from all you lovely souls out there while I am taking all those different ‘first steps’ in this business venture.

😀

Have a great day ahead, always!

Till then,

Cheers & TTFN~

Pre-cut Fimo

Other Nail Art Decor

34 responses

  1. such a kindhearted and creative 🙂

    1. Awww…thank you my friend…cheers!! 😀

  2. Lovely pendant and Ive been thinking good over your beautiful words, thanks !

    1. You’re always welcome, my friend. 😀

      Thank you for reading this post and leaving us this lovely comments. Cheers~ 😀

  3. What a shame you didn’t get what you were expecting but you certainly changed it into a great piece of artwork and useful too. Your bookmarks are very cute.

    1. Yes, it is just a risk we need to take if we are depending on suppliers…thank you for this lovely encouragement…appreciated it.

      Btw, just to inform you that the ‘angelic love’ studs are in the pipeline…will keep you further informed once they are ready for listing…

      Have a great day ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

      1. Yes please. Let me know when they’re available.

      2. No worries, will keep you further informed once they are ready for listing.

        Thank you very much for your lovely support in advance. Cheers!! 😀

  4. WELL DONE! Love your outlook on life, and this post sure made me smile!

    1. Thank you for reading this post and leaving us with this lovely comment. 😀

      Have a great day ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

  5. great transformation 🙂

    1. Thank you for reading this post and leaving us with this lovely comment. Cheers~ 😀

  6. Sending you wishes for abundant good health and joy!! Shine on….

    1. Awww…thank you for your sweet and lovely blessings~ greatly appreciated. 😀

      Have a great day ahead, dancing with a joyous heart, always!

      Cheers~ 😀

  7. You turned a regular pendant into a beautiful and unique bookmark – I LOVE it! 😀 You are a very talented person – keep up the awesome creativity. 🙂

    1. Awww…thank you for reading this post and leaving us with such encouraging words…greatly appreciated.

      Have a great day ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

      1. No problemo, I hope you have a great day ahead too! 😀

  8. lindaangelcounseling | Reply

    I love what you did with that pendant!!! Just in case you are interested, I have a sister site/business. http://www.angelarmor.com inspirational jewelry. May be something you are would like. Thanks also for liking my blog. Just starting out in the blogging world! Also, working on the website as well! 😉 Thanks again, Linda

    1. You’re welcome!

      Thank you very much for visiting and leaving us with this lovely comment and link to many angelical pieces…:D

      Have a great Friday & Cheers~ 😀

  9. I am very impressed with the transformation also! I might have left the diamond looking stones and the ruby ones and just changed the faces on each one. You took a lot of time and I enjoyed your story of learning how to make the best through your changes of circumstances, too bad about the health problems. I will keep you and yours in my prayers.

    1. Thank you very much for this lovely encouragement, greatly appreciated. Gotta do an ‘extreme makeover’ since I don’t have the right tools or skills for minor modifications yet…lol…

      No worries, but come to think again, without this health issue, I might never get to read all those lovely stories of yours…right?

      So, let’s cheer for that and awww…thank you for including me in your prayers…:D

    1. Awww…thank you, my friend for this lovely nomination. Cheers~:D

      1. You are very welcome, you deserve one 🙂

      2. Awww….you too, my friend!! Cheers~ 😀

  10. Thank You for liking my drawings!!!! Thank you for visiting!!! Visit anytime 🙂 *Cynthia

    1. You’re welcome! Thank you for visiting as well…Cheers~ 😀

    1. Thank you for reading this post and leaving us with such an encouraging comment. Cheers~ 😀

  11. I like your attitude, and the creativity you’ve shown with that pendant! I wish you all the best with your business and your blog. God bless.

    1. Thank you for reading this post and leaving us with such a motivating comment and of course, lovely blessings as well.

      Greatly appreciated.

      Have a great day ahead, always~ Cheers!! 😀

Leave a Reply

